Congressional Staffers Join Sportsmen’s Community for Annual Shooting Sports Competition

On August 1, Congressional Sportsmen's Caucus (CSC) staffers kicked off August Recess by joining the Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation (CSF) along with other representatives from the sportsmen's community and allied industries outside Washington, DC, for the annual August Recess Shoot-Out.

The event, which gathered nearly 200 attendees, included a trap, skeet, and sporting clays competition. CSF President Jeff Crane thanked staffers for their work on behalf of sportsmen and women over the last year. "Thank you for your efforts to advance policies that ensure hunting and angling, as well as fish and wildlife conservation are advanced," said Crane. "Your dedication to the nearly 40 million sportsmen and women across the country will ensure that our collective passion for outdoor pursuits is accessible and abundant in the future."

Among attendees were over 40 beginner shooters who had the opportunity to learn the basics of firearm safety from professional shooting instructors. Hunter and recreational shooter recruitment, retention, and reactivation is one of CSF's top priorities. Increasing participation in the hunting and shooting sports is important to the future of outdoor recreation and fish and wildlife conservation funding, which is primarily funded by sportsmen and women through the American System of Conservation Funding.

After the competition, the following awards for the sharpest shooters in trap, skeet, and sporting clays were announced by Crane along with CSF Board of Directors Member Larry Keane of the National Shooting Sports Foundation. 

  • Top Gun: Jared Hill (Bunge North America)
  • Top Gun Female: Nickie Currie (Amgen)
  • Top Gun Republican: Chris Diller (Rep. Vicky Hartzler)
  • Top Gun Democrat: Ben Jackson (Rep. Gene Green)
  • Top Skeet: Andrew Borden (Bass Pro Shops)
  • Top Trap: Scott Nulty (Rep. Glenn Thompson)
  • Top Sporting Clays: Brian Calabrese (National Rifle Association)
  • Top Beginners: Megan Boland (Rep. Dan Donovan); Alexah Rogge (Rep. Rod Blum); Rachel Schwegman (Rep. Bob Latta)

CSF Board Chairman Paul Miller and Board Members Jeanne Mitchell (Exxon Mobil Corporation) and Chris Gullott (Bridgestone Americas, Inc.) were also in attendance.

Title Sponsors included: BP America Inc.; Cabela's Outdoor Fund; Exxon Mobil Corporation; Hess Corporation; ITC Holdings Corporation; National Shooting Sports Foundation; Natural Resource Results LLC, LLC; and Vista Outdoor Inc. Host Sponsors included: Anheuser-Busch Companies; Bass Pro Shops; Ducks Unlimited Inc.; Federal Forest Resource Coalition; Herbalife International; Hornady Manufacturing; IceMiller Strategies LLC; National Rifle Association; The Nature Conservancy; Oracle; Outdoor Sportsman Group; Petroleum Marketers Association of America; Plano Synergy Holdings; Richard Childress Racing; Safari Club International; Shimano American Corporation; SilencerCo, LLC; Washington Metro Chapter of Safari Club International; and Winchester Ammunition.

States Involved

Share this page

Your opinion counts

What do you think is the most important policy issue impacting sportsmen and women in the 2018 legislative session?

Vote Here
Get Involved

We work hard to educate elected officials about issues important to you, but we can't do it alone. Find out how you can get involved and support CSF.

Read More