Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus Showcases Bipartisanship at Clays Competition

Yesterday, nearly 30 bipartisan Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus (CSC) Members put politics aside and joined members of the sportsmen’s conservation community for a day of trap, skeet, and sporting clays outside Washington, DC.

The annual Congressional Clays Competition allows Republicans and Democrats to come together and enjoy a shared tradition as sportsmen and women. Team Republicans was led by CSC Co-Chair Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC), and Team Democrats was led by CSC Co-Chair Congressman Gene Green (TX).

“This annual event brings together Members of Congress from both sides of the aisle who are passionate about our outdoor traditions and wildlife conservation,” said Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation (CSF) President Jeff Crane.

Special guests included CSF Ambassador Lucas Hoge, Gold Medal Paralympian (2010, 2014, 2018) Andy Soule, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Deputy Director Greg Sheehan, Member of Canadian Parliament Bob Zimmer, and former Washington Redskin defensive tackle (1975 - 1988) Dave Butz.

Prior to the Congressional Clays Competition, members of the sportsmen’s community and allied industry representatives gathered for the annual Industry Challenge on May 14.

Top Congressional Clays Competition Scores

Congressional Sportsmen's Caucus Individual Category

"Top Gun" Member of Congress: Rep. John Rutherford (FL)

"Top Gun" Republican: Rep. Richard Hudson (NC)

"Top Gun" Democrat: Rep. Mike Thompson (CA)

Top Skeet: Rep. Jeff Duncan (SC)

Top Trap: Rep. Duncan Hunter (CA)

Top Sporting Clays: Rep. Austin Scott (GA)


Experienced Category

"Top Gun": Ryan Boyles

"Top Gun" Female: Sarah Rauch

Top Skeet: Forrest Wilson (Vista Outdoor)

Top Trap: David Farmer (Bass Pro Shops)

Top Sporting Clays: Joel Goergen (Safari Club International)


Beginners Category

"Top Gun": Jennifer Thompson (Shell Oil Company) and Bob Sherman (Ducks Unlimited)


Industry Challenge Winners

Team Category

First Place team: Bill Backleit, Ryan Bronson, Fred Ferguson, Forrest Wilson (Vista Outdoor)

Second Place team: Andrew Bordon (Bass Pro Shops), Ryan Broyles, David Farmer (Bass Pro Shops), Rick Schmidt (Buck Bomb)

Third Place team: Dave Butz, Bethany Erb (Pheasants Forever), Chris Horton (CSF), David Slikkers (Tiara Yachts/Pursuit Boats)


Experienced Category

“Top Gun”: Ryan Boyles

Top Skeet: Ryan Bronson (Vista Outdoor)

Top Trap: Bill Backleit (Vista Outdoor)

Top Sporting Clays: Robert Crow (White Flyer Targets)

States Involved

Share this page

Your opinion counts

A key component of the American System of Conservation Funding, the Pittman- Robertson Act directs excise taxes on firearms, ammo, and archery equipment to wildlife conservation. Since its inception in 1937 the Act has generated more than $12 billion towards conservation. However, there has been a loss of 5 million hunters in the past decade. One proposed solution to help fund conservation is to dedicate lottery proceeds for conservation purposes. Would you support this effort in your state?

Vote Here
Get Involved

We work hard to educate elected officials about issues important to you, but we can't do it alone. Find out how you can get involved and support CSF.

Read More