May 7, 2014

Team Republican Wins “Top Gun” Title at Annual Congressional Shoot-Out

Nearly 30 members of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus (CSC) put partisanship aside yesterday to enjoy a friendly competition shooting rounds of trap, skeet and sporting clays. The CSC Republican team of marksmen outdueled their Democratic counterparts at the Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation’s (CSF) Congressional Shoot-Out held at the Prince George’s County Trap and Skeet Center in Glenn Dale, Maryland.

“The bipartisan members of the CSC are committed to protecting and advancing hunting, angling, recreational shooting and trapping in the halls of Congress. This event shows that members of the CSC are passionate about the outdoors and the activities sportsmen and women hold dear,” Jeff Crane, President of CSF stated.

Current CSC Co-Chair and team captain Representative Bob Latta (R-OH) was joined by his co-captain, CSC Vice-Chair Representative Rob Wittman (R-VA) as they accepted the trophy on behalf of Team Republican, who narrowly edged out Team Democrat by a score of 222 to 215 to take the Member Trophy. Representative Mike Thompson (D-CA) served as captain for Team Democrat. Also in attendance was Maine State Senator Troy Jackson, representing the National Assembly of Sportsmen’s Caucuses.

“The Congressional Shoot-Out is a great opportunity for members of the CSC to discuss issues on Capitol Hill that are important to sportsmen and women and at the same time promote bipartisan cooperation in the halls of government,” Rep. Latta stated.

Below is a list of winners from the Congressional Shoot-Out.

Individual Category

Representative Collin Peterson (D-MN) was named the overall Top Gun Member of Congress. The Top Gun from Team Democrat was Representative Mike Thompson and the Top Gun from Team Republican was Representative John Kline (R-MN). The Top Skeet shooter was Representative Paul Ryan (R-WI); Representative Steve Pearce (R-NM) won the Top Trap competition and Representative Steve Southerland (R-FL) won Top Sporting Clays.

Elite Category

Shane Naylor of Remington won Top Trap; Charlie Conger of Remington won Top Skeet; Tyler Olay of Remington won Top Sporting Clays and Dave Butz of the NRA won Top Gun.
Experienced Category

Ryan Bronson of ATK won Top Skeet; Jerry McPhee of Occidental won Top Trap; Jens Krogh of Benelli won Top Sporting Clays and Drew Goodlin of ATK was awarded Top Gun.

Beginners Category

Tara Good and Hannibal Kemerer of Patton Boggs shared Top Gun honors and Brandi Pensoneau of the NRA won the Top Gun Female award.

Industry Challenge

The day prior, on Monday, May 5, CSF hosted the annual Industry Challenge, which coincides with the Congressional Shoot-Out each year and is held at the same facility. Unlike the Congressional Shoot-Out, the Industry Challenge offers an opportunity for CSF’s partners and supporters to establish bragging rights by competing both as teams and as individuals.

Below is a list of winners from the Industry Challenge.

Team Category

The First Place Team was Remington, which included Charlie Conger, Kris Carson and Shane Naylor. Second Place was awarded to ATK and team members Ryan Bronson, Steve Rodgers and Drew Goodlin. The Third Place team was Yamaha Motor Corp. and team members John Allgood, Kevin DeCew, and Jon Swindle.

Elite Category

Top Skeet was awarded to Dave Butz of the NRA; Top Trap was awarded to Kris Carson of Remington; Top Sporting Clays honors went to Shane Naylor of Remington and the award for Top Gun was earned by Charlie Conger of Remington.

Experienced Category

Top Skeet was awarded to Jens Krogh of Benelli; Top Trap honors went to Dan Schreder of Alpha Natural Resources; Top Sporting Clays honors went to Curtis Smith of Shell and the award for Top Gun was earned by John Allgood of Yamaha Motor Corp.

The Title Sponsors of the Congressional Shoot-Out and Industry Challenge were Alpha Natural Resources, ATK, BP America, Inc., Hornady Manufacturing Co. and National Rifle Association.

The Host Sponsors were Bass Pro Shops, Cabela’s Outdoor Fund, ITC Holdings Corporation, National Shooting Sports Foundation, Remington and Winchester Ammunition.

Co-Hosts were Amgen, Ash Grove Cement Company, Benelli, Beretta, Boone and Crockett Club, CropLife America, Dallas Safari Club, Diageo, ExxonMobil Corporation, GSM, LLC, Hearing Industries Association, JC Larkin Company, L.L.C., National Beer Wholesalers Association, National Pork Producers Council, Old Virginia Tobacco Company, Oracle, Richard Childress Racing, Safari Club International, Shimano American Corporation, White Flyer and Yamaha Motor Corporation USA.

Studies conducted at both the state and federal level have found that the number of hunters and trappers have been on a generally declining trend over the past several decades. To increase recruitment, retention, and reactivation (R3) of hunters and trappers, which initiative do you think would have the greatest impact?

View All news

Back TO All

In Season


Stay current with the latest news, policy activity and how to get involved.

Sign up for Newsletters


Donate today so we can keep fighting for tomorrow!

Donate Now